Quiche – The Crust = Frittata for breakfast! Or lunch! Or dinner!

Ding ding ding!  Call me slow on the uptake, but a brilliant thought occurred to me yesterday.  I have two absolutely  delicious Quiche recipes, courtesy of my very good friend Dorothy.  Why not just lose the crust and make it primal friendly???  I always used the store-bought, pre-rolled generic anyway, so it’s not a big sacrifice .  After I bake it when I have time, just slice, nuke and enjoy the next day!  Why didn’t I think of this easy, easy grab and go breakfast before???????  It is so much quicker to have eggs pre-prepared.  Add an orange and it’s breakfast!  Add a nice salad or soup and dinner is served!

 

Anyway, here it is.  Please keep in mind that the oven times might vary due to not having to cook the crust, so I may be off.  Start checking it after about 30 mins.  This does include a few teaspoons of flour, but I’m not picking nits.  This is primal/paleo friendly enough for me!

 

Grease glass pie plate with butter or spray canola oil

1 1/2 cups grated Swiss (.35 lbs.)

4 tsp. flour

Mix together in your pie plate

Add small dices of ham

 

Combine in another bowl:

 

3 eggs (pasture raised if possible)

1 cup light cream

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. dry mustard

Grated onion (2 tsp or to taste)

 

Beat – Pour over ham and cheese

Bake at 350 for 45 mins (give or take, see above)

 

You can also freeze this mixture.  Wrap in plastic wrap, then tin foil.  When ready to serve, uncover, put the frozen frittata into the oven at 400 for 1 hour.

 

Another variation is 1.5 cups of Gruyère, and no ham.  Top the egg mixture with mushrooms and thawed and thoroughly squeezed frozen chopped spinach.  Cold and tedious, but necessary!  This one is actually my favorite.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Quiche – The Crust = Frittata for breakfast! Or lunch! Or dinner!

  1. Leann says:

    I’ve also made similar quiches with kale and collard greens instead of spinach. Must steam or fry first and squeeze out excess liquid. Yum!

Leave a Reply

